Marco Polo

Posted: 25 July, 2009 by SeaBart in ugly
Tags: ,

Marco Polo

IMO : N/A

Build : 1995 by Scheepswerf De Hoop, Lobith in the Netherlands, nr ??

I have spend the last few days in Rotterdam, obviously work related and I stayed in a hotel overlooking the river, that sounds good but unfortunately right opposite the hotel was the mooringplace of Spido Harbourtours. And one of their vessels is this ugly looking thing. She ruined my view every day again and I couldn’t wait to get home and ruin her day by putting her up on the slaughterblock here.

 

The moment I saw her I had to look twice because I thought I was hallucinitang and saw a large Iron floating around!!

17265

But it wasn’t me (this time), I was seeing it correctly: it was an actual existing¬† harbourtourvessel……..filled up with innocent tourists having a look at the giant port of Rotterdam. Whether that is an enjoyable experience is to be discussed!

So Rotterdam also joins the ranks of London, Hamburg & NYC to have vessels floating around on a daily base who scare away people by showing tourists the city from the river…..

The same company also owns this one: the Abel Tasman

Not so ugly looking but still a bit weird…….

It wasn’t all bad though….I also saw this one moored on the other side of the river, pretty impressive!!

 

Picture by me!

Picture by me!

Obviously this is the Queen Mary 2, featured HERE. It was nice to see her in real life instead of on pictures.

Comments
  1. bowsprite says:

    damn! you even found an ugly iron!

  2. fooman2008 says:

    this is what happpens when you look up architect instead of naval architect in the phone book to design your ship, they put arches (Mickey D’s) and 10,000 windows in the thing

  3. seabart says:

    I actually wonder whether they did hire an architect at all or just asked the CEO’s wife who happens to be an extreme ironing contestant.

  4. seabart says:

    Bowsprite: what can I say, it’s a gift!

Leave a Reply

