Team Oman

Posted: 26 March, 2010 by Fairlane in ugly
Tags: , ,

Team Oman

IMO: 9199584

Build: 1999 by De Hoop Shipyard – Tolkamer in The Netherlands, nr 373 as Sea Spider

When I first saw a picture of this vessel, I thought there surely must be a roller coaster somewhere along the shore behind her. I still wasn’t completely convinced there wasn’t when I saw her from another angle, either.

Seeing a shot without the shore behind her immediately threw out my hypothesis, and instead just confirmed her as ugly.

However, unlike many other offshore vessels, Team Oman’s problem isn’t that she’s overloaded with a bunch of stuff. I mean, she does have that affliction, but like an ugly kid with acne, there’s more at work here than what you first notice. There’s a problem in her genes, too.

The other stuff shows up at any glance, but she definitely has a face no mother could love.

Her stacks come from a bit of an unfortunate big-ear gene, too.

At least she’s overcome the jaundice she suffered from at an early age. The make-up changes she’s tried since haven’t done much, though.

I’m not even going to go into her name history, I think the face that at one point the words Team Sea Spider graced her sides says enough.

Comments
  1. Matt says:

    I was offered a job on that. Close call.

  2. Mark O'Shea says:

    I’m heading out on her on Sunday from Portland to carry out ROV work………update to follow!! I’m sure she will be a lovely beast!

Leave a Reply

